Eric Wardlaw's WordPress.com site

The Scout Law of Creating Traditional Content

After reading the links given at Professorbrey.com, I found that up bringing is something that has influenced my blogging process. There are three things that that stick out when I am trying to write traditional content blog. These three things are speak the way you write, write about what interests you, and remember The Scout Law.

Talking and Writing

What do I mean about talk the way you write? I mean talk the way you would write a paper for a class. Try not to use slang very much when talking to friends or relatives. I have noticed that talking this way has helped me when writing and that I tend to write more correct English when I do follow this.

Interest

The second thing that I do is try to write about things that interest me. If you come into a situation where you have to write about something that totally does not seem interesting; try to find something that relates to the subject that you are actually interested in. A high vested interest in some related to the subject will help the creative juices flow and will help add value to the written word.

Scout Law

When looking at the links Professor Brey proved on his site about key points for creating traditional content and sharing of the content, can be summed up by one thing in my opinion; The Scout Law. It is something that every Eagle Scout must know by heart and is something that I remember to this day. This twelve point list of words does seem redundant and out of place in social media. Let’s take  closer look at how I think it fits in.
Scout Law

  •  Trustworthy

To relate this to blogging traditional content you have to be a reliable source of information for your readers and you have to gain their trust.

  • Loyal

Be constant in devotion or regard to your readers. Try to make a schedule of when posts are to be made, this way your readers know when to come look for a new post.

  • Helpful

Use keywords and tags to be a useful place of information to your readers and others searching for information.

  • Friendly

Don’t be hostile. This does not mean that you cannot post negative comments about something, but instead it means don’t be so negative that people won’t continue to read the post or other posts.

  • Courteous

Try to find all points of view on a subject you could be blogging about and possibly give both sides.

  • Kind

You are an individual representative of your brand or the brand you are blogging for. IN simple terms know your voice.

  • Obedient

Have a willingness to obey and give your readers what they want.

  • Cheerful

Be sure to encourage your readers to respond and to research some information on their own.

  • Thrifty

It is defined as economical management, but it is all about saving money a time of your readers.

  • Brave

Don’t be afraid to post or stand your ground. Some people don’t blog because they are just not brave enough to post what they think.

  • Clean

When looking at this one I always think to write it so the most amount of people will find it entertaining without using offensive words.

  • Reverent

I think of this as being respectful of where you get your information from for your blog post and respecting others opinions on the subject. The listing of sites that your blog pulls information from as a link will also help with linking to trusted sites. This relates all the way back to trustworthy and coming full circle when writing.

This is just how I think during creating traditional content and people always think differently. My best advice for everyone is to find a style that best fits you.

Sources of my Information

9 responses

  1. I like the point that you made about relating topics that you have to write about to topics that you actually like to write about. This definately adds personality, and interest to usually dry topics.

    September 27, 2011 at 3:25 AM

    • Yeah I find that I have to do this often…

      September 27, 2011 at 2:29 PM

  2. I agree with Michelle….and just like you talk about relating topics to write about with things you like to do/talk about you do just that in this blog for a brief second. We all know how your an outdoors man and the Scout Law is something that you can relate to sort of speak.

    September 27, 2011 at 3:31 AM

    • Well, outdoors is way more fun than sitting at home…

      September 27, 2011 at 2:29 PM

  3. I dig the scout law, and yea i fully agree our upbringing reflects our style plus all of our other daily decisions. see you in class guy.

    September 27, 2011 at 5:14 AM

    • I had to find something I was interested in to write this blog and the Scouting thing was a good choice I think…

      September 27, 2011 at 2:26 PM

  4. I’m an Eagle Scout myself, so I definitely enjoyed your comparison. Where do you draw the line when trying to speak how you write so that you don’t sound like Noah Webster?

    September 28, 2011 at 2:52 PM

    • I try to limit the amount of slang that I use as much as possible. And if you begin to sound like Noah Webster or Stephen Hawking just tone it down a little.

      September 29, 2011 at 2:45 PM

  5. The Talking and writing part was my favorite part

    September 28, 2011 at 6:56 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.